2016 Finals : Matthew & Massaro

A host of new National Champions were crowned today – from the EDSA, the new U21 Champs, the Masters from O35 to O75 and of course the two main titles.

British National Squash Championships 2016 : FINALS

Women’s Final:
[1] Laura Massaro 3-0 [2] Alison Waters       11-2, 11-5, 11-4 (24m)

Men’s Final:
[1] Nick Matthew 3-1 [2] James Willstrop  11-2, 6-11, 11-3, 11-3 (50m)


Massaro dominates to take third title

World #1 Laura Massaro justified her top seeded with a comprehensive straight-game win over Alison Waters in the women’s final, the pair’s fourth meeting at this stage.

A quick start saw the top seed lead 5-0 and the pattern was set, Massaro dominating the rallies, Waters unable to make much of an impression on the play or the scoreboard as Massaro raced to a two game lead.

The third was more competitive, but Massaro still had the edge, closing out the match in under half an hour.


“Alison wasn’t at her best today, but I thought I played well and I’m absolutely delighted to get my name back on the trophy,” said Massaro.


Matthew makes it Eight

Nick Matthew already held the record of seven National titles and, appearing in a record ninth final, he extended that to eight as he beat James Willstrop in their fifth final.

The top seed was dominant in the first game, putting Willstrop under relentless pressure as he took the lead. Willstrop fought back well from 2-4 in the second to level the match, but was under the cosh once more in the final two games as Matthew regained control.

At 9-2 in the fourth there was a particularly brutal rally which Willstrop somehow managed to win, to his own and the crowd’s delight, but it was only a short stay of execution.


“It’s always tough to break James down,” said Matthew, “but the court was a bit deader than in previous days and he was maybe feeling yesterday’s five-setter by the end. I ‘went to Coventry’ in the second but managed to get back on track.

“The Nationals is a great event, always improving with new things coming along like the U21s and two glass courts, and it’s unbelievable and an absolute honour to have won it eight times.”